From the Archive – May 2003

May. 12th, 2003 at 11:45 AM

I’m tired of ftp-ing my regular journal page so I’ve joined up for this service. I have absolutely no idea if this is working or not.

May. 12th, 2003 12:08 PM

It needs tweaking but at least it’s up. Note, the links to baby-bat online will stay on the bottom. I need to consult a buddy to figure out how to get this perfect.

May. 13th, 2003 12:20 PM

My feelings on my battle with a particularly thorny work associate: Sometimes you just want to bash peoples heads in. But we can’t just do that can we. I cannot wait until in the future I have enough experience to be able to tell people to just shove off. I hate that my work is not as good just because of seniority. I hate having to go with something I don’t like. Thank god for my happy clients who never make me compromise good design.

May. 13th, 2003 5:27 PM

I love the end of the day. As usual, I have recovered from my close call with stupidity here at work. As usual, I will return to playing nice with others who don’t deserve it.

On a brighter note, I added a new entry to the baby bat page and fixed it so the link stays at the top of the page. We’ve passed another week successfully and now our little bat is officially a fetus and looks like an actual baby! Whoo-hoo!!

May. 19th, 2003 4:12 PM

Last week, Frank and I mourned the passing of our friend Jennifer. We were truly blessed to know such a sweet and caring person and will miss her dearly. 26 years are just not enough for anyone and certainly the few years we knew her where really too short.

Yesterday we decided to go for a picnic in Prospect Park and take advantage of the nice weather. Silly us, thinking a slight breeze would raise our kites. Four hours later we successfully conquered mother nature and got them going despite the changing wind directions. There is something almost spiritual about kite flying.

Friends joined us in the park, despite my less than accurate directions, and then invited us over for a wonderful dinner. Days like that were the simple pleasures are enjoyed are the best!

Digresion on Kisses

May. 22nd, 2003 at 10:28 AM

I find myself needing a day off today. It’s been too long since I just spent the day doing something creative like sewing or writing. Something that doesn’t involve housework or a computer. I have the urge to finger paint. On the up side, the weather is sort of blah so being indoors is not a bother.

After eating a wonderful egg, cheese and sausage sandwich, which I can enjoy a little more often since the extra cholesterol is ok when you’re expecting, I find myself reaching for the last Hershey’s kiss in my desk. I love kisses, their cute shape and silver foil and the tail, that almost looks like a little mohawk. Punk kisses! When I was growing up there were few things I could count on. One of these were that my grandparents and great-uncles and aunts would always have kisses.

I am definitely looking forward to the long weekend which will hopefully involve some Manic Panic!

May. 23rd, 2003 1:34 PM

It’s that time again. I need a new website. This one was fun for a little while but once again I’ve gotten bored. Plus I want to give certain things more prominence. Stay tuned for the new Zansite, version 9.0!

May. 29th, 2003 2:44 PM

I am so tired… but relatively happy considering our tax refund check was a chunk less than anticipated. Every time I mess up our returns, I hold the accounting teaching staff at Queens personally responsible. Drives me crazy that I can do double-entry business accounting yet the key to personal tax returns elude me. I have to exercise great self control not to send them hate mail.

Work is crazy, which I like. I am moving my clients home, which is a big step. The next step is to obtain my company website. Then I will be official! 🙂

In other design news, I have an idea for the new Zansite so continue to stay tuned. It’s mellow, it’s simplified, it’s blue!

Otherwise all is well, with both of us. As always, you can read more about our progress in the baby bat online.

Leave a Reply

