From the Archive – January and February 2010

January 4, 2010 – Another Year, Another Decade

My decade, in short, has been Frank, career, the Pumpkin and house. I could be more retrospective but I really want to turn in early so that I can wake up early and do some cable yoga, which is my new favorite thing, although a little hard to do in the living room with the Christmas tree and my bike.

It doesn’t feel like ten years. Not at all.

I certainly can’t even imagine the next ten years. As for the coming months, I’d like to take small steps. Maybe exersize more, or at least not give up. I’d like to do more outdoor things in the park. Not pay any bills late. Complete all my projects at work and evolve into a project leader, think outside the box.

January 6, 2010 – Lunch At The Desk

A coworker inquired and found out that we can eat at our desks. Still, I won’t when I have real food. But last night we only ate soup in a can so today it’s snacks and yogurts. Totally desk worthy. I do not want to hear than Pannetone is not suitable lunch food.

Finally I can catch up with LiveJournal. You all tell the best stories. And now for some news…

I am determined to get out and see the world this year. The other night, we were watching Discovery Channel and saw this special about weird animals and they were talking about horseshoe crabs, which are very cool, and apparently once a year they do this mass breeding thing on a beach in Delaware. We are so there!! We’re going to watch crabs mate, and help the stragglers back into the ocean. It happens in the late spring, early summer, which is a nice time to go to the shore. – http://www.ceoe.udel.edu/horseshoecrab/history/reproduction.html

Anyway, I think it’s time to get out there. On the 23rd is a Lego competition at Penn which we’ll probably go to too.

January 12, 2010 – Amigurumi-A-GoGo!!

So, up until now I’ve made one weird looking kitty, a mushroom, and two octopi. Since I made the octopi from scratch, I wrote out the pattern and it’s ready for Etsy. I just need to figure out how to go about doing that. I liked some of the other offerings which were like a kit instead of just the pattern. That might be really fun but maybe too much work for the limited time I have.

Anyway, amigurumi are lots of fun. Relatively quick and easy. Already we’re addicted. Frank wants me to make one of Ziggy. The Pumpkin wants just about every animal she sees.

I need to take a break and fold laundry.

Meanwhile, we had a flood in our basement. Apparently some arse turned on our neighbor’s hose (our neighbor is really nice but some horrible fiend got to his hose.) and it was running for hours before Frank found it.

January 13, 2010 – I Am The Absentminded Professional

Although I have gotten the project management thing pretty good within my own department, it’s always tricky when I have to work with another department. I totally forget that my poor IT department has a whole other structure for project management and it’s much more involved and I really need to tell them about things I need them to do and things that I want to do to the web site. Because it’s not entirely mine to play with.

Of course when the crap hits the fan, the techie VIPs need to know what’s going on. Likewise, they want to make sure I’ve crossed my “T”s and dotted my “I”s. And, of course they want everything scoped out in writing and not my chicken-scratch either. The thing is I know this. I know better and I actually like scoping out a project, sectioning into little tasks and writing reports. I like testing. I like forming results into little tables. But, alas, since I don’t work with them all the time, I completely had a brain fart and have been scrambling to catch up. Fail, fail, fail.

Then, I went to the wrong room for the planning meeting I called. Arggghhhh! Just stupid of me. As pennance, I wrote, what I hope are, very nice reports about requirements and testing results. I also did some research about testing matrix to make sure I know what that is all about.

I think what I look forward to this year, is going from a worker bee to more of an architect bee. It’s just hard to break old work habits where I just produce and don’t think about strategy, reports, meeting location. For me, that’s really what I have to work on.

Meanwhile, I really hope everyone can forget about this morning…

January 25, 2010 – I’m All About Crochet These Days

And totally at the cost of so many other things I need to be doing but I always seem to have one more project lurking. This week, I am pausing to get the house in order for visitors next weekend.

I am happy to see the weather looking up because my umbrella broke this morning.

It’s going to be a long, long day of work.

My latest doily isn’t turning out as well as I’d like. Rethinking that one but not starting over quite yet.

January 27, 2010 – Website Upgrade Fail

The last two days have been really, really, bad. If I wasn’t logical, I would say that the CMS has it out for me. Seriously. I am finding errors the vendor has never seen before. And they can’t replicate any of the errors I got.

I’m afraid to leave my desk because I need to get any and every phone call that could be the call that explains all this nonsense and has someone offering a solution.

On the bright side, the site never went down. Yesterday I got it to work using old data. Not preferable but better than a dead site. Today I have a working site but can’t make any updates to it.

I just want to cry.

It may takes days to recover.

January 28, 2010 – I Have Survived

Now it’s time to reflect and create a process in which I will hopefully alleviate the stress I have undergone over the past few days.

I don’t think I could have really done anything differently. We just don’t have the set up, nor do I think they will provide a set up just to prevent two days of honky web behavior.

Meanwhile, I am collecting procedure and testing documents from the other departments that do web things so I can make sure my procedures and testing is at least comparable.

However, sometimes crap just happens. Every environment is different. There is a 90% chance that something will need post release tweaking. It’s just the way it is. I knew about the issues, I was on top of correcting the issues.

I can tell you something for sure… I am not doing anything without a team next time, if for nothing else than to have support when things go wrong.

And yesterday the Pumpkin broke her toe. And today Frank got two parking tickets.

It’s been a rough, rough week but it looks like I’ve pulled through and the worst is behind me.

February 1, 2010 – I Envy Grown Up Women

I wonder if I will ever be the sort of woman who has everything under control, or at least has a mature demeanor. I feel like I got to 25 and have somehow stalled out there. My Dad once said that he always thought that I seemed right at home at whatever age I happened to be. Never trying to be older than I was and always handling age appropriate challenges well. Now I feel quite out of sorts and somehow disconnected. It doesn’t help when I do simply stupid things at work, when I know better.

In lew of having a plan for myself, I am just going to work on plans for the things around me. One, update row house site. Two, go to church on Sunday and sing because I miss both music and God. Three, harass all parties related to my projects at work until they reply to my inquiries. Four, finish outstanding octopi. Five, fold laundry. That should put me in ok shape and at least make me feel like I’m moving ahead.

I really hope the rest of the year is not like my January. January is totally fired.

February 5, 2010 – Doily A Go Go

I hate when you get to the near end of a very large doily and realize that you may have to start over. However, I decided to deviate from the pattern and seem to have come up with something doable.

I seriously still haven’t folded laundry yet.

I’m going back to the doily. Should finish it up tonight.

February 14, 2010 – Health Fail

Last night trip to Penn E-R. I love living near a hospital. Anyway, four hours later and we have successful sinu-itus. I told the doctor about my ick as well and voila, his and hers antibiotics. Yay!! Looking forward to finally getting rid of this ick for good. Take that!!!

As an aside, the ER was seriously nearly as nice as a hotel. Quiet, clean, TV… all in all very nice.

Anyway, off to bed. In attempts to avoid further dumbness at work and beyond, I am creating an iron-clad to do list in all aspects. Lists never failed me before. Time to stop being so damnned lazy and get back to it. Seriously, I feel so disorganized and undisciplined… Grrrr!!

February 24, 2010 – Life Is Marching On Without Me

Life is marching on and I am not keeping up with it. I need new blood and realize that it’s been way too long since I’ve done something creative. I am miserable without my beloved design work but web design is passing me by and there are new things I need to be learning.

Project at work is winding up. Means I can wrap up lurking things that are still lurking. And thankfully, I will get time to play with some things I need to learn how to do. Manly explore some new CMSs. I feel like all the time I’ve gotten to know stupid E-blah. Wasted time because I never, ever hear of anyone else using it. Everything I hear about is Drupal, Joomla and SharePoint, of course. Never mind the new Flash… I am so behind in my technology. Must get to learning and fast. I have so many ideas I want to work out.

Updated PhilaFleur tonight (can’t believe the mess it was) and realize in lue of any new client work, I really need to shift from a personal site to more of a working site. I have so much archiving to do and I really need to figure out a creative way to show my work. Meanwhile, I have two row house articles pending that I need to get a jump on. Can’t be lazy for one minute.

In many ways, I feel like I’ve been living in a cocoon for the past two years and I need to get out of it, pronto, because there is no falling behind in my industry. Time to get to work.

Ok, off to bed, too late as it is.

Leave a Reply

