Am I Outgrowing the 18th Century?

I seem to be gaining girth these days. Blech.

The real crisis about it is that I may soon be to big for my beloved 18th century gowns. This is unacceptable. Of course, I made the dresses in college and how many people still fit into stuff they wore in college? Still, I don’t want to resemble stuffed sausage casing. And I don’t want to have to make new gowns and a new corset, although everything is showing it’s age.

Time, you are a too cruel mistress.

I’m trying not to be too hard on myself. After all, I did have a kid which may have ruined my waist size for good. And I can’t cinch-down in my current employment situation like I could in school. And I am closer to 40 than not.

Maybe it’s just time for something new? I have a delemma. Do I make another 18th century gown, because it’s my favorit-est ever? Or do I make a bustle gown, which I can wear more often? Or do I do something Tudor-ish, because I have enough, really swanky fabric? Or do I bring Vermeer to life? Decisions, decisions, decisions…

Which one looks ok on a slightly, maybe more than slightly, curvey figure? Why are models so darn skinny? I need to see something resembling the end product on my body type.

Anyway, clearly I need to shrink. Seriously. My schedule is so crappy for exersize but I’ve got to fit it in somehow.

Off to bed so I can get up early and run. This is rediculous. I actually feel like a marshmallow. It’s quite gross.

Leave a Reply

