From the Archive – July to November 2010

July 28, 2010 – Having an Imagination Is Not a Good Thing

Because it doesn’t let you rest. You have trouble falling asleep. You think the worst things are going to, or have already happened. Total brain fail.

My aforementioned imagination is getting in the way of the part of my brain that writes. So although I have tons going on right now, I can’t focus.

I was happy, feeling OK, even in the midst of budget turmoil and doom. I was OK.

Now I am gloomy and cranky. I feel irrational, threatened and uneasy. Better to keep to myself.

Grrr.

August 11, 2010 – A Window Opens

I have made it through the gauntlet twice now. One more to go. I hope and pray I do well. It is hard to face these challenges in my current broken state. I must muster up confidence.

I must remember my table manners.

I will start with a haircut on Saturday. I wasn’t going to but Frank talked me into it.

Note to self. One, I must write directions down and repeat them to people at the start of a project. Must must must write. This will slow down my brain and make me focus when I have 20 things to do and running through my mind.

Two, admit your weaknesses. Pass along to those who can probably do it better because they have more time and more practice. Get rid of crappy, time consuming, stress-inducing projects like hot potatos before they take you down with them. Especially crappy projects that are not related to your purpose. Delegating is not nearly as bad as failure, especially when it seems the cards have been stacked against you.

Meanwhile, I have row house to catch up on and curtains to sew.

Busy, busy, busy. Hoping hoping hoping. Coping coping coping.

November 9, 2010 – Seriously, I Don’t Mean to Be Gone So Long

Busy. busy. busy.

I have nearly finished one side of curtains. The tricky side with tassels. This weekend will be the end of that and hopefully a good part of the other side as well. I should be sewing now but I am going to get into bed at a reasonable time tonight.

I didn’t run this morning. I did run 4.5 miles on Sunday. I wanted to get up to 6 this month but haven’t quite gotten there yet. I will.

The Pumpkin swallowed a plastic hamster toy. It took a visit to the ER. several x-rays and a cat-scan for them to located said hamster in her stomach. It’s small enough to pass through the normal way. I have no idea how we are going to get billed for this. At least it was a pleasant experience at CHOP. It’s really nice to be so close to such a great hospital.

It’s been craptastic weather – cold and rainy. I am officially considering myself a serious biker now that I’m dealing with yucky weather. No sane person would bike in what I bike in. Still the fastest way to get to work.

Everything else is chugging along. I am putting in a request for an uneventful next six months. Seriously, I need a vacation from anything going wrong. I just want to go about my business in peace and quiet.

Leave a Reply

