Nothing Like a Fashion Magazine…

…to make one feel entirely unfashionable. Of course, I do love getting a fashion magazine every month. It’s a nice departure from either web or architecture magazines, the usual. But I have realized the following things.

  1. I can’t tell if anything will fit because everyone is so thin and gangly. I’m all for being fit, after all I run and whatnot, but I can’t change certain anatomy. Anything that requires double-sided tape and forgoing a bra is not really an option. There seems to be a lot of that these days.
  2. My love of small historic homes has limited my closet size so anything and everything coming into my closet has to be very versatile and well-thought out. Not a lot of that these days.
  3. And, like everyone I know, I need to be thrifty. I have to know that I’ll be able to wear something until it falls apart. I can’t buy something and only wear it once. I’m not sure I would want to wear most of anything I’ve seen more than once.

I can’t be the only one with this fashion delema. And then I have style ADHD and like so many styles from several periods and every time I go into a store I get distracted. I’m a shopping disaster.

To cope, for the past ten years or so, I’ve been collecting pictures of clothing and shoes I like from magazines and taping them into a scrapbook organized by jackets, shirts, skirts and so forth. Every so often, I go through the book and edit my choices. Since it’s an edited version of all the things I like, that have survived years of pruning, the book is now a solid representation of what my every day personal style is.

I realize this sounds OCD but like all people who live in small houses, we follow the “one in, one out” rule. I can’t get a new shirt unless one of my existing shirts needs to be replaced and I need to love it just as much. So I use my scrapbook to narrow down my choices before I get to the store to avoid the emotional trama of shopping and buying a mistake. And as a full-time working mother, I don’t have a lot of time to shop and if I have the Pumpkin in tow, it isn’t long before she starts to “remodel” the store. Having the book keeps me on target and in and out as fast as possible.

Leave a Reply

