Sewing Historic Costumes with Bklynwebgrrl

Sewing with Bklynwebgrrl.Sewing is what you learn to do when you are a) broke, and b) strange. Seeing as I was both, I learned how to sew fairly early on. It wasn’t until college when I really started to rebel against fashion and make all my own clothing. Who says you can’t wear an 18th century gown to your afternoon class? Not me… because that’s exactly what I did. Now that I’m older, I don’t make too much for myself but the Pumpkin is a blast to sew for since she is much smaller.

My absolutely indespensable resource is Patterns for Theatrical Costumes: Garments, Trims, and Accessories from Ancient Egypt to 1915 by Katherine Strand Holkeboer. Everything I’ve attempted has come out wonderful. For more info, see http://www.amazon.com/

If you prefer historic or unique garments, it might be hard to find businesses that supply fabric, patterns and notions that you need for such projects. Hopefully this small list will help.

General Information

Clothing for the new colonial family.Patterns

Fabric

Sewing Supplies

Leave a Reply

