Carpel Tunnel – 0, Suzanne & Dr. Venkatesh – 1

Photo: nickwijnan - http://www.sxc.hu/profile/nickwijnan
Photo: nickwijnan – http://www.sxc.hu/profile/nickwijnan

A few weeks ago, I posted about my history with carpel tunnel and how I finally was in enough pain to reach out to one of the doctors at my work to do something about it.

I can’t believe I took so long to try this out. I went to the Drexel Neurology practice office (disclaimer – I work at Drexel), where I checked in. Before I could even sit, I was whisked back to a nice office, where I met Dr. Venkatesh who explained everything about the process and used a sonogram to see my nasty carpel tunnel nerves and proceeded to use a very tiny needle to deliver some steroids. The entire process took about 10 minutes and I was back at my Center City office about 30 minutes after I left.

Steroid Injection for Carpel Tunnel

Did it hurt? Not really. My right, and worse, hand, was a little throbby afterwards but I was able to go back to work.

Did it work? Absolutely! I no longer wake up in the middle of the night in excruciating pain. I no longer lose feeling in my hands randomly. It’s awesome and I recommend it to anyone who’s dealing with carpel tunnel!

Unfortunately, it’s temporary and will only last three months or so, but it allows me some time to make an appointment for the surgery in the summer.

Leave a Reply

