Playing Chess With The Pumpkin

Chess at our house!I don’t think it’s unreasonable to play chess with an eight year old. I believe it’s somewhat normal. But I didn’t expect the Pumpkin to be as good as she is. Sure, she walks into certain death and doesn’t always check everything out first, but she’s still learning. It certainly it wasn’t a wham bam thank you m’am. She actually made some clever moves that surprised me.

I also noticed that when faced with the possibility of losing a piece, she will automatically look for a friend to block the move, or someone to protect the endangered piece. Her instinct is different from mine, which is to move the piece in danger out of harms way. It was very interesting and tells me a little more about this person that’s growing up right in front of me.

Anyway, we had a lovely evening playing since the homework was done and dinner was a crock-pot special and involved no cooking. I’m hoping that playing chess will teach her some control over her thinking, and her behavior, in general as well.

Leave a Reply

