High Fashion Magazine Delivery Day – October 2012

There is very, very little editorial content in my less favorite High Fashion Magazine, so I have breezed through it.

First and foremost, I want to mention that several months ago, I took notice of a certain needlepoint shirt and lo and behold, needlepointed things have become all the rage this month. I’m still not entirely sure about an entire dress of needlepoint roses with lace insets, but for handbags, it’s awesome. I obviously have a sense for this… Maybe I will just become a high fashion magazine editor and get my very own uber closet of awesome stuff like they have at Vogue. I will name my publication, “Stuff for Normal Sized Women of Average Budgets” or SNorSWAB.

OK, I’ve stopped laughing. Back to the magazine. I never would have considered myself partial to Italian designers but the fall Dolce & Gabbana line is just as lovely as the summer’s produce outfits. Lots of embroidery, black on black and wool capes. You can see the items at http://www.dolcegabbana.com/store/ Also, how cute! Crochet earrings… which I could make!

I have never heard of Delvaux handbags before, which is not surprising because in looking for one particular two-toned bag that caught my eye this month, I discovered a lovely alligator number that cost $14,000 (yes, correct number of zeros). So that’s in the keep dreaming category. However, the two-toned bag (http://www.bebergaul.com/delvaux-fall-2012-handbags-very-colorful/collection-delvaux-handbags-2012-fall/), a bargain at $2,000, is quite lovely. I really like bags that are a good size, have structure, and utilize either different colors or textures in a subtle way. Incidentally, I did a Google search for the bag, failed to put in Delvaux handbag, and instead got a whole lot of paintings of nude women by an artist named Delvaux.

I normally don’t like Stella McCartney but one particular dress, (http://www.edress.co/stella-mccmartney-2012-fall-embroidery-dress.html) I do like. Not sure if it’s feathers or scrolls or whatever, but I like the shape and how the design is applied. Note, this is a total knockoff but trying to find a picture of the actual dress is proving to be impossible.

The magazine recommends this Preen skirt (http://www.net-a-porter.com/product/321329) for those over 60 but I just love it, except the back, which is green. It’s like… never mind. Too bad the back is completely different. Girls… never trust a High Fashion Magazine, which only showed the front; cautionary tale.

Finally, I really liked this sandal from Ralph Lauren (http://www.harpersbazaar.com/fashion/fashion-articles/ralph-lauren-dree-hemingway-beauty-shoot-1012#slide-3) If you visit the site, you can see the shoe and hear a peppy tune. Next to the shoe is a picture of the embroidered shirt I mentioned above. And, also, a lovely interview with Christian Louboutin (http://www.harpersbazaar.com/fashion/fashion-articles/24-hours-with-christian-louboutin-1012#slide-1).

Leave a Reply

