Quilting is Faster Than Crochet

Photo source - http://www.sxc.hu/profile/branox
Photo source – http://www.sxc.hu/profile/branox

I just thought of something – is using first letters all capitalized a blog faux-paux? Hmm…

Anyway, regardless of format, I thought I would share my experiences with quilting. I absolutely love to create things out of nothing. Well, not exactly nothing. I like creativity within boundaries, which is why art – like painting and the such – never appealed to me. Maybe it’s the German in me but I thrive out of rules and structure.

By the time I started to contemplate quilting, I had already made several large crochet blankets, which took forever. Blame it on my ADD but halfway through I would get absolutely bored with the project and finish it only out of deep love for the recipient. I only started to think about quilting because I worked at a fabric store where there were several quilters. They were finishing their baby blankets and throws in a weekend, not months. The proverbial light bulb went off.

When learning a new craft, it’s always a good idea to start small. I used a basic hexagon pattern and created a rather small thing, which was too small to be a blanket of any type and with which I used too much padding so it was rather stiff. Then I discovered that the hexagons made great soccer balls so somewhere there are several of those. Once I mastered the quilted soccer ball, I tried something more ambitious, a satin fleur d’lys quilt.

Since then, I haven’t really worked anything new up. Not because I wouldn’t love to but only because I’ve been busy with other projects, such as the family dirndls and other fun costumes.

Fleur d' lys quilt.
Fleur d’ lys quilt.

The best thing about quilting is you can sew by hand, it only requires the most basic ability to sew, and you are only limited by your imagination. It helps to have a decent sense of color, but I’ve seen beautiful monochromatic quilts as well. I won’t bother posting instruction because the web is absolutely filled with ideas.

Below are some links to some that have caught my eye.

Leave a Reply

