Philadelphia Tweed Art Concept

Note: The following post relates to the project requirements for my Foundations in Creativity class. Originally posted to the creativity blog on October 19, 2015.

For a few weeks now, I have struggled to come up with an art concept for this year’s Philadelphia Tweed Ride. This is an annual bicycle ride through Center City Philadelphia, held every November. The participants wear vintage attire and ride vintage bicycles. Included is swing dancing in Rittenhouse Square Park and a picnic in Washington Square Park. I’ve been part of the event planning team for four years now. It’s a wonderful event and everyone has a lovely time.

After reading our weekly texts that mention the influence of exercise on creativity, I decided to purposefully clear my head and channel my focus on the design during my two-mile walk home from work. By the time I got home, I had the beginning of an idea and by the next day, this little dapper fellow came into existence. I was very depressed about the Gothic Primer not working out but when I remembered the spoke card, it made me feel better.

Creativity isn’t always on-demand. It is a tricky mistress indeed.

Leave a Reply

