Beer Doesn’t Work for Me

Note: The following post relates to the project requirements for my Foundations in Creativity class. Originally posted to the creativity blog on November 6, 2015.

Yesterday I read a blog article (http://www.fastcompany.com/3052930/know-it-all/four-surprising-factors-that-influence-creativity) about creativity in which they cited a study that alcohol consumption can have a beneficial effect on creativity. I am not a drinker except on celebratory occasions. However, for science and creativity, I downed two beers in 20 minutes and hoped for the best.

Nothing happened. I must be the exception. Instead of drawing with the pencils, I thought about how the colors would describe themselves if they could talk. “The greens are bright and vibrant.” Or, “the gray is peaceful and quiet,” perhaps. I’m not entirely certain of how extensive the discourse among colors would be as they are visual creatures.

Today I awoke with the most dreadful headache and am presently trying to figure out how to get rid of it before my entire day is ruined.

I have thought of a new theme for my paper – dissatisfaction as the motivation for creativity. Regarding the project, I have no good news. No progress. Just increasing despair.

Leave a Reply

