The Allure of Longbourne

The 2005 version of Pride and Prejudice is available on NetFlix and I’ve been watching it, a lot. Sure, I like Jane Austen enough, along with most early 19th Century what-have-you, but this movie in particular is one I just seem to return to again and again, and again.

The obvious reason is that the film was done very well. Unlike the recent Far From the Madding Crowd, which wasn’t so good, they really did a good job on everything about the film – music, casting, screenplay, setting, etc. Music is especially important to me in film; I would say Amelie, BladeRunner, The Piano, and this Pride and Prejudice are in my top 10.

However, that is only part of what captivates me about this film; that which prompts me to write about it. Now that I’ve watched the film about a dozen times I think I have figured it out. Looking past the characters and the action, to the Bennet house itself, is what I like most about the film. If I could just remove everyone from Longbourne and walk around for a bit, I would be very happy indeed!

To understand the rest of this post, you’ll need to watch the movie or none of it will make any sense. OK? OK, so onward then.

It’s hard to articulate, but it’s the realness about Longbourne (played by Groombridge Place) that I really enjoy seeing. The masonry is worn. The floorboards are dirty. The wainscoting and paint is weathered throughout the house. They clearly do not have enough household help to keep up with the daughters who have no idea how to keep things neat and tidy. Mr. Bennet’s study has so many piles of books and what-have-you that you expect an avalanche at any moment. It’s a well-used house that one might be tempted to recommend for a HGTV make-over.

Longbourn - Source: https://insidefilm.blogs.lincoln.ac.uk/2013/11/24/pride-and-prejudice-filming-locations/
Source: https://insidefilm.blogs.lincoln.ac.uk/2013/11/24/pride-and-prejudice-filming-locations/

The contrast between Longbourne and Netherfield or Pemberly is clear. Pemberly is practically presented as a museum, intended to inspire awe. It is remarked on several times how well-appointed Netherfield is. Even the Collin’s parsonage “of no mean size” is neat and tidy, no doubt well-kept by Elizabeth’s friend Charlotte, who quite “enjoys managing her own home.”

Clearly, Netherfield and Pemberly are the ideal; that to which we are meant to hope to inhabit. Perhaps, in my youth I might have agreed and desired to live in a museum. However, in my slightly-older age, I find myself drawn to the parsonage and Longbourne much more. In particular, as perfection in domestic appearance eludes me, I find myself looking forward to every scuff mark, worn thin painted surface, deteriorated masonry, and general mess to show how living in history doesn’t have to be pristine luxury or filthy destitution but rather a happy, well-loved middle ground. This is likely an obvious statement but the way the idea of home and cozy are presented in the movie just makes me wish I could be invited over for tea.

Of course, I can’t go to 1813 for tea. Instead, I have Bartram’s Garden, which is as close as one can get to Longbourne without leaving Philadelphia or the 21st Century. It’s a great deal smaller but the gardens and grounds are lovely and it’s a 10 minute drive from my house.

tumblr_lkof0oi05F1qjza6po1_1280 Source: http://architessica.tumblr.com/post/5208384407/bartrams-garden-john-bartram-1699-1777-his-son
Source: http://architessica.tumblr.com/post/5208384407/bartrams-garden-john-bartram-1699-1777-his-son

The idea of well-loved, cozy home is most apparent inside the home. Below are a few stills from the film with particulars noted.

Source: http://www.leavemethewhite.com/caps/displayimage.php
I would love to know how to get that aged blue/gray paint without having to wait for it to age on its own. The chair rail is scuffed. For all its squares, it’s overall a soft effect. Source: http://www.leavemethewhite.com/caps/displayimage.php

 

Source: http://www.leavemethewhite.com/caps/displayimage.php
Mr. Bennett’s study is a bit darker, the furniture looking like what you would find in an 17th Century house. Together with portraiture around the house, you feel that this is a home that’s been in the family for many generations. The home is as much a member of the family as the people. Another aspect I love about this study, and other rooms, is that they look well-used. There is real life to them. Source: http://www.leavemethewhite.com/caps/displayimage.php

 

Source: http://www.leavemethewhite.com/caps/displayimage.php
I wish when I left things lying around that it looked like a vignette. The mess is beautiful. In our house, not so much. Perhaps I am not looking at things the right way? Or is it that 19th Century stuff looks better lying around than 21st Century stuff. Another thing of note is that the flat pianoforte is fantastic for small spaces. I’m sorry they’ve stopped making them. Source: http://www.leavemethewhite.com/caps/displayimage.php

 

Source: http://www.leavemethewhite.com/caps/displayimage.php
Just prior to this scene, the Bennett women are relaxing very casually. Mr. Bingley and Mr. Darcy come to the house and they run around like headless chickens getting themselves and the room in order to receive guests. At this time, furniture was meant to be moved around as needed for the situation and it was nice that the movie included that aspect of early 19th Century interior design. It’s a lovely room from this distance but the camera focuses closer on Mrs. Bennett’s stained shoes and the ever-so-slightly tattered fabric of the sofa. It’s this decay that is endearing and real. Source: http://www.leavemethewhite.com/caps/displayimage.php

It’s this realness that inspires me to take a moment and enjoy my little house even if it’s not perfect.

2 thoughts on “The Allure of Longbourne

Leave a Reply

