To The Beat of Our Own Drum

Note: The following post relates to the project requirements for my Foundations in Creativity class.
Originally posted to the creativity blog on October 24, 2015.

How slow-going is progress on my everyday creativity project. I’m using PowerPoint but it is lacking. I’m just not excited about it and I’m having trouble feeling emotionally engaged. I can’t create if my heart isn’t in it or if a client isn’t providing adversity.

On the positive side, I have noticed that as I become more committed to being mindful about creative opportunities, I seem to see more opportunities to be creative that I may have previously overlooked.

Today we went to a friend’s house for a BBQ and there were live musicians playing the Blues. I don’t know what it is about the Blues that makes me want to write my own lyrics but I am nearly always motivated to sing along my own words, which I did. It was silly but creativity doesn’t have to be serious.

In our house, where the comfort level is rather conducive for creative expression (no judging, embracing of the weird), it is a fairly common practice for us to rewrite the lyrics, on the fly, to the more amusing songs we like, or popular songs we don’t, and sing along. Bonus points are applied for lyrics that actually fit in with the music and rhythm. For example, for Neil Diamond’s “Turn on Your Heartlight,” we did “turn on your blacklight – la la la – let everyone know what glows.”

Leave a Reply

