Formatting Content on the Website

Note: The following post relates to the project requirements for my Foundations in Creativity class.
Originally posted to the creativity blog on October 25, 2015.

I have tried to produce something creative every day but I’m going to need a day off each week to do written homework. I read. I analyze. I come up with, what I hope are, unique perspectives on our reading assignments. It’s inspiring me to be more mindful about creative opportunities but I don’t feel this, in and of itself, is creative work. Creativity is about doing, not just learning.

There are certain days when after grocery shopping, cleaning the house, and checking in on school, I simply don’t have time to create anything. This is when I am jealous of those who can spend their entire day being creative. I don’t think being head of a household is terribly conducive to creativity. Responsibilities hang on one’s shoulders; so very heavy.

Thankfully, I have the occasional opportunity to be creative at my job. I used to be a web designer which is very creative. These days, my creative work is more subtle, mainly taking rough content and making it look pleasing to the eye on the website, shaping user experience, architecting information, or defining processes . I purchased colored pencils and I brought them to work, hoping I would get outside to do some sketching during lunch but instead I spent a good part of the day making a listing of student interviews in our global health education program section look pretty.

There was no hope for getting in some drawing after work either because we ran out of clean underwear and I needed to go to the laundromat. Granted, it’s far less work than a woman would have had to do 100 years ago, but needing clean laundry sucks the life out of any creativity one might have at the moment; hierarchy of needs indeed!

Meanwhile, I am seriously considering creating a Halloween costume based on the traditional carnival costumes of Venice (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2272928/Carnevale-di-Venetian.html), for next year. I would do something with a jackalope theme, with antlers, and ears, maybe. Or perhaps something more traditional? So many options really. In any case, this costume would take extensive preparation so it’s not for today.

Leave a Reply

