A Dance for One

Note: The following post relates to the project requirements for my Foundations in Creativity class.
Originally posted to the creativity blog on November 4, 2015.

Last night I thought about dancing, motivated by a song that came on Pandora. Normally, my physical response to music would be endured passively, although moving to music is very natural and impulsive for me. However, because I seek to do something creative every day, I worked up choreography in my kitchen. This is very awkward given the space. I needed more room and more time to finish the dance.

[dancing is happening, a chair is knocked over]

I have created a compliment to Erik Satie’s Gnossienne No. 1. In my head it looked better. When I went to the gym to actually work it out, it became apparent that I am far too out of shape to actually let anyone see me dance. Jiggly and graceful are not really cohesive. I tried to bribe my daughter, who took four years of ballet but is presently on sabbatical, with all manners of reward but she has flatly refused.

It is a beautiful piece, the sort I would write if I had perhaps not abandoned my music which is painful to realize now. On a positive note, it was the first time I went to the gym in eight months and knowing that exercise is important for ADHD and creativity, I need to get back into the practice without further delay.

Leave a Reply

