Poetry Started to Happen

Note: The following post relates to the project requirements for my Foundations in Creativity class. 
Originally posted to the creativity blog on November 7, 2015.

There is nothing like poetry for a writer to convey her gloomy emotions. Perhaps the answer for this project is a collection of poems. This decision is motivated by two overall premises. One, is the idea that by exercising awareness and mindfulness of creativity in small ways every day, one can increase one’s creativity for larger endeavors. This is being explored by trying to work on creative things every day.

The second is, that while there are benefits to Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder such as inhibition and hyper-focus that compliment creativity, there is an equal chance of overthinking projects and suffering from decision paralysis. With the ever-increasing anxiety of deadline but no comforting constraints to force my brain to engage in any number of creative endeavors, I find myself in a most vexing situation.

After much reflection, I have come to the following conclusions. I have had two creative passions in my life; two domains that I am driven to do compulsively. One is music; the other writing.

It is a cruel predicament that I suffer from acute performance anxiety. Music, to be shared, is not possible. Composing music is also an endeavor not to be taken lightly or quickly. I am quite removed from my more prolific days of youth and need more time than we are allowed.

So I consider this; when I am upset, I write. When I am happy, I write. To keep track of the mundane things I will treasure later, I write. To work out angst before committing myself to argument, I write. Therefore, writing is the natural approach I will take for this project. However, as it must be creative, poetry, the music of words, will help me discover if creative output can be increased by daily mindfulness.

Leave a Reply

