A Very Merry Jackalope

Note: The following post relates to the project requirements for my Foundations in Creativity class.
Originally posted to the creativity blog on November 17, 2015.

Today, I decided to get an early start on the holiday cards and designed this based on other images I had to collage together in Photoshop. I would have painted this scene myself but my watercolors have long since disappeared and my painting kit may have been left behind during our move to Philadelphia eight years ago.

Of all my creative pursuits, painting is the one that I don’t seem to ever do. I like the physical feeling of the body’s motion when painting and got an “A” in my college studio art class but I always find myself doing other things. It’s not the cheapest hobby either and as it is, we’ve run out of wall space where I could display anything.

I used to make my own cards all the time but lately I just don’t have enough time or energy. Of course, after the first twenty cards, my hand hurts so much from writing that getting cards printed is probably going to be less painful in the end. Regardless, most mass-produced holiday designs are boring and typical. I have several artistic friends who always make their own cards and I leave them displayed all year long. I am debating putting any messaging on the cover at all. This way it’s seasonal and not overly holiday.

Over the years, I have all but stopped sending any celebratory post. I’m pretty good about making phone calls but the logistics of card plus stamps plus mailbox means everyone was getting their cards at least a month behind, sometimes two. After a few years, I stopped altogether, which is sad because I love writing letters.

This year, I am inspired by my creativity everyday project, which I had given up on but now can’t seem to help myself. I’ve been looking forward to designing a card for a week now and was thinking about the design quite frequently. I’m also early enough to expedite printing in time to mail them out. Huzzah!

Leave a Reply

