Me, Myself, and My Wardrobe

Note: The following post relates to the project requirements for my Foundations in Creativity class. 
Originally posted to the creativity blog on November 20, 2015.

It has been just over a month since I started to track every day creativity via this powerpoint/document/blog. What an emotional journey it has been!

I passed the soon to be out of business fabric store again and bought more fabric that I hope to use for the last creative exercise for this project, if I have time. Regardless, this last project will yield the most useful of what I’ve created this month, mainly because garments we wear. However, garments are complex and their construction is more time consuming than writing poetry or creating minor crafts, or even solving minor personal problems.

When I was in college, my entire wardrobe was self-made. School had no dress code and I worked in a fabric store so there were no limitations to what I could make and wear. Having to look normal for “grown-up” employment has meant that most of my clothing is now purchased. It’s these little sacrifices that suck the creativity out of a person and it’s one less way to express myself. But, when I was younger, I was a most prolific seamstress. When asked why I wasn’t becoming a fashion designer, I replied, why? So other people can look like me? So I can compromise to accommodate a market need?  No thank you! I am completely content with my creativity having been primarily a tool of self expression. In those days, the internet wasn’t what it is today. Clothing that suited my personal style wasn’t available so sewing was a natural solution.

I continue to hate wearing conventional clothing but I have to look normal at work. What a world it would be if we could fully express ourselves aesthetically! But alas, no. Squelchers will tell you there is no room for provocative attire in the workplace. This compliance with accepted standards for business attire does not leave much budget left over for spiritually fulfilling togs or much room in the closet. It also doesn’t help that my closet is very small; a sacrifice made to appease my desire to live in the architectural past.

It’s a welcome convenience that I can combine a creative project for school with something that I’ve been trying to accomplish for some time.

My sewing is not limited to my own garments but also for my daughter. Here she is wearing a 19th Century bustle skirt with an 18th Century corset. Who says you can’t mix and match centuries?

Leave a Reply

