Putting the Pieces Together

Note: The following post relates to the project requirements for my Foundations in Creativity class. 
Originally posted to the creativity blog on November 23, 2015.

Here is where I introduce what I hope will be the final project for this blog. The fabric, purchased quite a while ago, is India Silk gingham in a lovely warm medium green-yellow.

Sewing is a like a puzzle. First, you lay the pattern pieces on the fabric and then you cut, creating puzzle pieces that you then sew together. The difference with this dress is that I’m improvising to create a version of another dress I admire.

Below are the pieces cut and ready to be assembled. Unlike the inspiration, I am going to use pleating instead of gathers for the bodice inset and my skirt will be pleated instead of gored, which is when the volume of the skirt is created with shaped pieces instead of pleating or gathering.

dreitlein - plaid dress start

Below is a close up of the pleating. This is a very time-intensive process but the result is much neater and tailored.

dreitlein - plaid dress pleats

Below is where I’ve reached an obstacle. Setting the pleating into the bodice is becoming problematic as it needs to fit over my body. If you ever wonder why models are all super-thin, it’s because it is infinitely more difficult to sew for curvy women than those who aren’t as bumpy.

Sometimes it isn’t just 10-years you need to master a domain but the right equipment. Another thing I can’t afford or fit into my house is a dress makers’ form. Oh, the things I could create if I had one.

dreitlein - plaid dress inset

 

Leave a Reply

