We Finally Found Something to Draw

Note: The following post relates to the project requirements for my Foundations in Creativity class.
Originally posted to the creativity blog on December 3, 2015.

I find myself in a holding pattern for the dress project. I don’t want to drag the sewing machine out because it doesn’t make sense to set everything up only to have to stop and put everything away maybe 15 minutes into sewing. Again, the small house presents a challenge as I can’t leave projects laying about. The cats find sewing projects immensely amusing (naughty kitties). I should have time this weekend to finish it, along with a petticoat made of second hand ballgown linings that will be much cheaper than a ready made version. During the days of my youth, I spent many a late night, and early morning, sewing seam and hem alike. Unfortunately, in my middle years, sleep is non-negotiable.

Without exam or writing assignments to do, I find myself at leisure this evening. Such an odd feeling. Last night, I wrote a blog post on time traveler movies (https://stormunderstillwater.wordpress.com/2015/12/01/time-travel-via-the-cinema/) inspired by having recently watched Midnight in Paris, which almost makes me want to climb into cars with strangers as long as everyone is dressed in vintage attire. Alas, time traveling in fine automobiles, like traveling to other places in one’s fireplace (Harry Potter), is sadly fictional.

This evening I thought I’d help my daughter with her drawing. It’s a battle to keep her away from technology and the screen but I managed to pry her away. I always leave whatever else she should do up to her. I don’t care what it is as long as it’s not media. Tonight she settled on drawing and started off making a typical type that she’s copied from one of her classmates. Occasionally, she will draw something she recalls from her dreams. Those are infinitely more interesting. The mimic drawing came out especially funky so I offered my assistance and passed along the advice I was taught in school; start with basic relationships between shapes and proportions, then ease into perspective, nice and slow. We worked on a still-life of a box of breakfast biscuits, an apple, and two bananas. She picked up on the shadowing before I had to mention it.

Since I’ve learned about the 10-year rule in this class, I’ve told her on several occasions that it’s completely OK to need time to develop one’s talents. She has so much potential but trying to get her to work with one area long enough to make progress is extremely difficult. It’s like creative Russian roulette. The wiring is all there but the circuits haven’t connected yet.

Leave a Reply

