The Dress, Some Eggnog, and a Cookie

Note: The following post relates to the project requirements for my Foundations in Creativity class.
Originally posted to the creativity blog on December 7, 2015.

Voila! Here I am in my new dress, finally finished. I’m having a little celebratory egg nog in a Philadelphia German Christmas Market mug. There was a cookie but I ate it, which I probably shouldn’t have because I don’t need to be eating cookies, or drinking egg nog.

From a creativity perspective, is this project both novel and useful? Well, dirndl have been around for several centuries and the inspiration dress is based on styles from the 1950s. So not entirely as novel as discovering an element or a  comet, for example. But, it’s unique in fabric and an interesting adaptation of one style to arrive at another.  It has been made to save money, which it did, coming in at around $20, for 100% India Silk. The original was typically around $60(+) when shipping was added in.

At the end of a project, I like to consider what went well and what didn’t go well. I can see from the picture that the bodice line probably could have used some adjustment. Still, what can I expect from not having a dress maker’s form. And even if I did, I don’t believe creative people are ever completely finished. How many painters revise their work or composers write a new opus? I could probably continue tweaking seems until the cows come home, which is never, because we don’t have cows roaming around the streets of Philadelphia. Now that would be something to see.

Leave a Reply

