Retrospect: Covid-19 Week 19.5 – Cat or Sofa Cushion?

I’ve been working at home since March 16th. One thing that’s changed, is that my work companions are furry. If you ever wondered what your cat, or dog or what-have-you, does while you’re at work, now you know.

These are mine:

Milo
Loki
Klaus

I love how cats can curl themselves up into a perfect circle. And they sleep for a remarkable percentage of the day. Aside from the occasional Zoom-bomb, they are really lovely company. Eighty percent of the time, they are breathing sofa cushions.

Meanwhile, the world around my cats and I, churns away. Every morning’s news feels like a damage report. Last week, I started this post last week, it looks like the USPS is under attack. It’s very suspicious that mail in voting has been vilified by the incumbent when he himself votes by mail and people have been voting my mail for years. You file your taxes by mail. Get social security by mail. The latest is that mail in ballots are OK in states with Republican governors but not states with Democrat governors. Sigh.

Then, there was a very odd interview with Axios – https://www.fastcompany.com/90536520/11-jaw-dropping-moments-from-trumps-flabbergasting-axios-interview – that almost seemed like a Saturday Night Live skit. So very odd, even for him. The thing I noticed right off, is that you can’t compare different data sets as equals; like apples to oranges. This is something one learns in statistics which is a typical business school course. In her recent book, his niece noted that he hadn’t done his own course work which would explain this, along with his way of speaking and writing which just doesn’t jive with someone who’s been through college, even at the undergrad level. I just checked, he has a BA in Economics. There is no way someone who took macro and micro economics (I took both myself) doesn’t know how to read data correctly. I wonder how many people are under the misconception that he has a MBA?

There was a huge explosion in Beirut, which just happened so it’s a developing story – https://www.npr.org/2020/08/05/899282146/no-words-after-enormous-explosion-rips-beirut-a-search-for-answers. I always worry about living in a densely populated area where you just don’t know what’s being stored in nearby warehouses. One day you are sitting in your home, the next not. And those are the ones lucky to be alive. I imagine the number killed will continue to increase as they find more buried in the debris. Just so, very, very sad. And a reminder not to take anything for granted.

Meanwhile, here on the east coast, we got visited by category 1 hurricane Isaias. Several tornadoes were reported. Lots of people without power. Trees down. And so much flooding. We did okay, though. That pesky roof leak is still there but very, very tiny. We covered the entire area in silicon-based super roof sealant so I have no idea what the problem is. I am so tempted to just rip the entire thing off and start over. But, it’s relatively minor. I bet we just need to get up there on our hands and knees and take a closer look around the sky-light. Another reminder not to take anything for granted and be thankful for our blessings every day.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.